Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (4) - TV Shows (2) - Books (2) - Games (2)

Date a Live review

Posted : 5 months, 2 weeks ago on 8 May 2017 01:16 (A review of Date a Live)

Date A Live is one of the series that takes the Harem Genre and puts an interesting spin on it.

Since I haven't read the light novels, I'll be reviewing exclusively the anime version.
The protagonist is just an ordinary guy who lives in extraordinary times. Superpowered girls called Spirits cause trouble around the city and he has to pacify them and seal their powers with a kiss, so they can live normal lives.

There is plenty of interesting characters to go around: Shido is a likable, gentle and ultimately brave person who just wants people to be happy; Tohka is this dignified and cheerful girl who manages to be badass when the going gets tough, Origami is a quiet and tortured girl who feels her life is meaningless without revenge; Kotori is authoritarian, bold and secretly a sweet little sister. Yoshino is the kind of girl anyone would like to take home with her. More characters get introduced and their relationships are handled pretty well for a harem series.

The most enjoyable relationship has to be the love triangle between Shido, Tohka and Origami, at least on the show's early moments. Both girls can connect with Shido in a way the other can't. While Origami might seem like the more enticing choice, Shido needs Tohka to keep him grounded.

Westcott is actually one of the best villains in recent anime. He is dark, mysterious and never makes the mistake of underestimating the hero. On the other hand, his cohorts Ellen and Jessica are left a bit underdeveloped. Still, the fact that these people manage to be dark and serious villains in what is otherwise an optimistic and hopeful series is a good way to challenge viewers.

The visuals and the music are beautiful, even by today's standards. The voice acting peformances are nothing short of extraordinary. This is the show that made me take Nobunaga Shimazaki seriously.

Hopefully, there will be a third season to continue this beautiful and amazing story


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Asterisk War: The Academy City on the Water review

Posted : 5 months, 2 weeks ago on 8 May 2017 01:14 (A review of The Asterisk War: The Academy City on the Water)

I'm gonna start this review saying that I'm a casual anime viewer. Big series like Naruto or Dragon Ball no longer appeal to me. My tastes in anime, and fiction in general, have changed and The Asterisk War seemed like a good place to start to get acquainted to the new shonen series.

Since I haven't read the novels, this review is exclusively for the anime version.
This is series combines some of my favorite things in anime: meaningful character development, great action setpieces and amazing visuals. This show started with great promise and is able to hold it till the end.

The story is simple: after his sister mysteriously vanishes, the protagonist goes to the school she used to attend to and find her. There, he becomes the school's best fighter and earns a harem of beautiful, competent girls.

Something you don't see very often today's harem shows is that the protagonist is this affable, compassionate human being and the show offers a pretty good reason as to why that many girls would develop feelings for him: he loves them, sees them as equals, lays out a helping hand when no else did.

What also amazed me is that by that point in the series is that the protagonist chooses right from the beginning his favorite: the obligatory tsundere. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, as this girl is a good-natured, bold and determined person; being a tsundere is just a secondary factor in her personality.

The other girls are not that bad either, but it's clear from the get-go they have no chance with the protagonist and whenever they have intimate moments with him, it only makes the heartbreak harder for them. I didn't like that the show kept introducing love interests for Ayato even when his mind was made up. That's the one aspect that kept dragging the show down.

Anyway, The Asterisk War is set in a world dominated by a huge multinational corporation that uses fighting tournaments between teenage superhumans in order to extend their influence and the protagonists constantly winning puts a major dent in their plans. You can expect a lot of under-the-table dealing and political intrigue from this setup.

In general, this manages to be an entertaining story. There is drama, fun, action and a huge potential for world building.

A very good series for those interested in anime, manga and light novels.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Super Mario 3D World review

Posted : 2 years, 9 months ago on 5 January 2015 07:43 (A review of Super Mario 3D World)

This is without a doubt one of the best games Nintendo has ever made. Once again, Nintendo makes a solid hit with Mario. After the release of the more traditional New Super Mario Bros. U, it's good to see our favorite plumber experiment new things with the power of the Wii U.

The premise of the game is fairly the same as other: Mario and his friends must save someone from Bowser. The twist is that Princess Peach is one of the playable character, so the role of the damsel in distress is taken by the Sprixie Princesses. Our heroes must travel across the kingdom to save them, encountering new enemies along the way.

The gameplay is very innovative and pushes the player's abilities to the limits. Combined with the camera controls and the level structure, the player can have a good time figuring out which strategy is best suited to win the day.

A special highlight is the mini-games, special events that allow the player to accomplish things that cannot be normally done in the primary story. The levels are brutal and can get on your nerves, but if you take your time, the results are beneficial.

The graphics are amazing, the colors are vibrant and the atmosphere is beautiful. This should be a testment of how awesome the Mario universe is. If anything, it pushes the Wii U's abilities to the limits. The music should not be taken for granted. It's orchestrated, like the Super Mario Galaxy, with a bit of jazz and rock thrown in for good measure. The combination of visuals and sound is a testament of how something can be both silly and serious in the Mario and still make sense.

Long story short, this game is a serious contender for best Mario game of all time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Man of Steel review

Posted : 2 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2015 05:55 (A review of Man of Steel)

I watched this movie back when it came out and only now I'm writing a review. I'm so embarassed. I'm a huge Superman fan and I think this is not only the best Superman movie ever, it is also one of the best superhero movies ever.

After the mediocre Superman Returns, I hoped a sequel would make up for it, so I wasn't particularly excited when I learned Warner Bros. would reboot the franchise. Fortunately, I was mistaken.

''Man of Steel'' reintroduces several classical elements from the Superman mythology to modern audiences, such as Krypton's decadent state or humanity's attitude towards aliens with superpowers. All of these were actually seen in comic books, but movies are meant for a wider audience, even those who haven't read a comic book in their lives. The story has a good pace and establishes the characters fairly quickly. It doesn't take its sweet time to explain things because the Superman franchise is one where everyone already knows what's what and who's who. Instead, the characters are free to do their own thing without being constrained by exposition.

I actually enjoyed the movie's tone. It's not as "dark" as other people claim, but it is definitely serious. The characters remain their normal selves and react the way you would expect them to in such environment. In the end, it makes for a more enjoyable experience.

Henry Cavill was a valiant and dignified Superman. He would have a hard time measuring up to Christopher Reeve, but he certainly prove he has what it takes to be the Man of Steel. I enjoyed the sense of humanity the film introduced for him, making his heroic actions more believable. At first, I had my doubts about a British actor playing an American superhero, but then again, it worked for Batman and Spider-Man. And boy did Cavill deliver.

Amy Adams as Lois Lane was a major hit for the movie. I also had my reservations about Adams, what with the age difference between her and Cavill and her red hair, but when I saw her on-screen, she was just natural. She and Cavill had great chemistry on-screen.

As for the villain, we have Michael Shannon as General Zod. After his appearances in Superman II and Smallville, I was getting tired of him but Shannon's performance made the character interested in him again. Zod also has very sympathetic reasons to do what he is doing, but he is also quick to remind everyone that he is a bad guy and Superman has a good reason to fight him.

Russell Crowe, Kevin Costner, Diane Lane and Laurence Fishburne are undeniable bonuses for the movie. Their characters allow us to see different sides of the Superman universe. The movie benefits from their development.

As a Zack Snyder movie, the visual effects are nothing less than extraordinary and really bring the action sequences to life. The music, made by Hans Zimmer, is appropiate for Superman.

The action sequences were great. A lot of people complained about the excessive action, but after five movies, it felt good to see Superman use his powers to their full capacity.

This is a great movie and I definitely recommend it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

LOL review

Posted : 4 years, 8 months ago on 12 February 2013 03:34 (A review of LOL)

At first I had made the choice not to watch this movie because of the bad publicity it gave to Miley Cyrus, but after seeing the movie everywhere in the store, I decided to watch it and judge for myself. And I gotta say, I'm impressed.

The film tells the story of Lola Williams, a girl who lives with her divorced mother Anne. Lola and Anne do not have easy lives, with both having to deal with typical mother-daughter issues, such as sex, drugs, Internet and romance. After undergoing a bad breakup with her boyfried Chad, Lola finds solace in the arms of Kyle. For her part, Anne has been trying to get over her divorce by dating James, a narcotics detective.

Outside Lola and Anne's perspectives, there is also Kyle (Lola's new boyfriend), Emily (Lola's best friend) and Ashley (Lola's friend/rival). They all have their issues to deal with, and they all must solve them.

I admit some of the storylines were badly-handled. To be honest, I laughed at some of the serious parts. But for the most part, I enjoyed the story. The characters were very endearing and the best part is that there are no villains and the movie operates in a gray and gray morality. Every party have their sympathetic and unsympathetic sides. The closest thing the movie has to a bad guy is Kyle's father, and even he has an understandable reason to be strict with Kyle. Do I even need to say that father and son make up at the end?

Through at it all, LOL is an enjoyable, albeit quirky, movie. I definitely recommend it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Snow White and the Huntsman review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 12 January 2013 05:08 (A review of Snow White and the Huntsman)

At some point, we're all familiar with the tale of Snow White. Fairest of them all, poisoned apple, true love's kiss, etc. But we find ourselves in times when people want to make a few changes in the story to entertain a modern audience. And this movie is the latest example of that rule.

Okay, I'm not exactly surprised by the idea of a dark fairy tale world, but this is one of the very few examples that make that idea work. In this story, the evil Queen Ravenna has discovered that Snow White is the only one who can destroy her. To prevent that from happening, Ravenna makes the Hunstman to find and kill Snow White. However, Snow White convinces the Hunstman to help her save the kingdom and defeat Ravenna.

Many elements in the story are present, such as Prince Charming, the Magic Mirror, the Enchanted Forest and the Seven Dwarves. They are modified to fit into the idea of a darker and edgier Snow White. Instead of a dashing and valiant prince, you get a very flawed and human young man. Instead of a happy and singing miners, the Dwarves are an oppressed minority. You should expect that kind of changes.

The atmosphere may be dark, but you can also sense a kind of elegance in it. The characters are well-developed and you can identify with their personalities, their struggles and their victories. Kristen Stewart succesfully breaks away from Bella Swan by playing the beautiful and valiant Snow White, Charlize Theron is a magnificent Queen, and Chris Hemsworth is the deeply awesome Huntsman. This trio of characters are basically the whole reason you stay watching the movie.

While I respect Disney's version of Snow White, I honestly prefer this version of the story. In fact, it was this movie that got me interested in Snow White again. It also made me a Kristen Stewart fan. I definitely recomemnd it for everyone!

That's it. Thanks for reading.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Superman - Action Comics Vol. 1: Superman and the Men of Steel (The New 52) review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 9 January 2013 03:41 (A review of Superman - Action Comics Vol. 1: Superman and the Men of Steel (The New 52))

Okay, I know what you're all thinking: "Another Superman origin story? We already have thousands of those!" Okay, you're right on that one, but Superman is a very famous character with a very famous origin. People get interested in a comic book character because of how they become in what they are right now. DC Comics make thousands of origin stories for Superman and people will still be interested. Anyway, onto the review.

The book is written by Grant Morrison, of Batman fame. You can totally tell this book will be awesome. Meanwhile, the art is handled by Rags Morales. I haven't had any prior experience with his drawings, but I decided to give the guy a chance.

This story doesn't really focus on Superman's origin (well, it does, but later into the book). Instead, it focuses on Superman's early months of activity in Metropolis. Superman is portrayed much like his Golden Age incarnation; he cannot fly yet, so he moves around by incredibly huge leaps. In this book, Grant Morrison sees Superman as a champion of social justice, a guy who tries to make a difference with the common people. So, he goes around threatening corrupt businessmen and hanging them above tall buildings.

Naturally, everyone is divided in how to see Superman. Some people, like Lois Lane, believe him to be a good guy; but others, like General Sam Lane (Lois' father), believe the Man of Steel as an alien threat. General Lane hires a private scientific consultant, Lex Luthor, in order to take Superman down, at any cost.

Unfortunately, a very real alien threat sets his sights on Earth: Brainiac, the Collector of Worlds. This gives Superman the chance to prove that he is a real hero, but to do so, he must uncover new powers and obtain a shiny new costume. What, you didn't think he was going to keep a t-shirt and jeans as his superhero uniform, did you?

The main story focuses on Superman's fight with Brainiac, but a few issues take a backseat to showcase how did Superman came to be where his now, his early days on Krypton and his youth on Smallville. It is a very entertaining story, but at some point it might feel forced because it basically comes out of freakin' nowhere.

Through the course of the story, Morrison introduces elements and characters that he would later use for the latter stages of his run. While I admire his Batman work, I think the Superman saga is where he begins to show his true colors as a genius. The story will culminate in Action Comics #17, which will come out in February 2013. Be ready to check it out!

Well, that's it. Thanks for reading!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Super Mario Galaxy review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 9 January 2013 03:07 (A review of Super Mario Galaxy)

Simply put, Super Mario Galaxy is one of the best games I've ever played.

This was the first Mario game I played ever since I had a Nintendo 64. And it was also the first Mario game I ever completed. I feel so lucky to have this game.

The levels are well-crafted and the gameplay is a complete innovation. One of the problems Nintendo had to fix is the very controversial camera control. There were a lot of complains in Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Sunshine about the camera being hard to control. In this game, the camera is fixed and you only see what you need to see.

Another feature I liked is the Star Spin, your new all-purpose move. With the help of his trusty Luma, Mario can remove obstacles, progress through the level or defeat enemies. It's pretty much the "hammer" of the game.

Now, I go for the characters. Mario is hero, obviously; I mean, his name is in the title. Princess Peach is everyone's favorite damsel in distress and Bowser is back being the villain and final boss. The newcomer for this game is the mysterious Rosalina, a space-traveling princess that helps you in the game. Because of her likable personality and sunny disposition, she is a very good addition to the cast.

To be honest, at first I didn't know if I should get this game because of his story-free nature. I wanted a game with developed characters and a big story, and we all know that Mario games don't have any of that. Of course, I ended giving this game a chance and I was glad I played it.

I hope everyone can enjoy this game as muh as I did. Thanks for reading.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Green Lantern review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 12 February 2012 11:04 (A review of Green Lantern)

In my opinion, Green Lantern was one of the best 2011 movies. I don't know why people keep bashing it. I know it's not Harry Potter; but come on, it's not that terrible either. Superhero films have always been at conflict between fantasy and reality. You don't see this kind of problem with Superman or Batman, do you?

Ryan Reynolds was charming as the everyman Hal Jordan. He can convey the emotions of someone who is thrown in a situation beyond their control. Alone against Parallax, the only thing Hal to fight, aside from his ring, is his own humanity. And that shows that humanity is special because we can recognize our own shortcomings. Reynolds is basically true to the Hal Jordan from comics, especially when Geoff Johns is the writer.

I don't know why everyone is complaining about Blake Lively as Carol Ferris. She's pretty nice to me. Maybe it's all that fuss from her character from Gossip Girl. I like her on Gossip Girl, and she serves as an inspiration for Hal to overcome his fear and save the day.

Mark Strong is awesome as Sinestro, although that's expected, since he has played pretty awesome characters recently. Strong gives Sinestro a nice feeling of humanity. At first, Sinestro is stoic and distant to Hal, but in the end begins to warm up with him. But everyone who reads the comics should know what happens with him in the end.

I hope that this review can change some opinions about the movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Final Crisis review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 12 February 2012 07:24 (A review of Final Crisis)

The the most fantastic and extraordinary battle for Earth begins in this awesome book. Darkseid returns from the dead and threatens to destroy all reality. He has mastered the Anti-Life Equation and uses it to eradicate all free will. Superman, Batman and all of Earth's heroes rally together to stop him. Even some of Earth's villains, such as Lex Luthor, are so disgusted by Darkseid's plans that they form an alliance with the heroes.

Overall, this is a respectable series. It brings an end to the story of the New Gods and sets one of the most fantastic Batman stories in motion. And it punches Countdown to Final Crisis right in the gut, since one of the panel states "Don't worry about Countdown." Dear God, Countdown was awful.

The bad side is that some of Countdown's storylines are left hanging in FC, and this series has to pay the price by trying to pick up the pieces. Let's face it, Final Crisis didn't finish those threads, but Grant Morrison did his best in a satisfying way.

This basically marks an end to an era of the DC Universe and begins another.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block